Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Versifier  
#16 Posted : Monday, July 7, 2014 1:19:08 AM(UTC)
Versifier

Groups: Registered

I've read the entire transcript and I don't feel like what is described in the article is what was being said at all.

They aren't saying people don't have to work hard just to survive, they are saying people shouldn't have to work as hard as they do... They are both arguing for shorter work weeks, longer vacations, and for higher wages at the expense of employers profits.

Offline JeremiahWarner  
#17 Posted : Monday, July 7, 2014 10:02:11 AM(UTC)
JeremiahWarner

One thing I've noticed is that a lot of people don't notice all the other jobs out there. That being said I'm a cook and there is always work and is one thing a machine will never replace. Decent pay, 40+ hours, raises, chances to move up, and its fun, on down time there is nothing to do but [censored]around, but i will say as in any job you do have to prove yourself. If there is one thing Americans love its well cooked food. Its a slave job at times but like I said its fun.

Offline Growly  
#18 Posted : Monday, July 7, 2014 1:57:58 PM(UTC)
Growly

The central quote in this article is taken woefully out of context. In the full transcript (linked in the article itself), Larry actually starts by saying (emphasis mine):