Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline animatortom  
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 14, 2010 2:05:29 PM(UTC)
animatortom

Groups: Registered

The Vapochills are actually the same concept that they are touting for use in cars, to eliminate all the moving parts.

The gases react to the heat and chemically react in the reverse direction and cool in a cycle that is based on the amount. This is actually a great application for this chemistry. The main problem they might have is to be the most effective, it will have to be mounted on the board vertically, and most cases have the Motherboard mounted sideways.

I am an RC builder, and a mini air conditioning unit is totally possible. I just haven't met anyone who would take the time to  build mini compressors, evaporator cores and High pressure lines? If you visit a good RC shop, the tech is there to make it possible. There is just to many questions as far as reliability and condensation.  Plus if you had a liquid like R134 and a line  bursts it would be very flammable and probably turn your PC into a exploding gas tank :P You would also have to have some material like Titanium to use as the CPU sink, to make sure that it wont build up moisture. And I don't know anyone who is working with molded Titanium who can build a high pressure heat sink for me.

I think I remember these guys actually trying something like that a long time ago, but I cant be sure. Yet seriously how fast do you really need to go.  These things are usually done for fun by people who have alot of time and money on their hands.  They are about as fun as Robot wars, and just about as useful in the innovation of new tech.
Offline blazarcher  
#17 Posted : Sunday, April 18, 2010 10:27:06 AM(UTC)
blazarcher

Damn wonder if that AMD processor would beat a 980X @ 5ghz.