Olde Fart
2008-09-25T04:00:40Z

Gidday young'uns!

Well, where to start? I haven't been in the hardware scene for years now, and had taken a sabbatical w.r.t. overclocking and stuff. I'm not a complete noob [:D], I've built phase-change and water-cooling rigs and so on when I was younger. As I got older, what I did set aside is that passion for the hardware and getting the most out of it.

Recently I've had more free time to play around and having bought some recent games that caught my eye (e.g STALKER), the lack of modern oomph from my current system is telling. Here are the specs:

MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum S939

A64 3200+ overclocked to 2.7GHz on air. (What does that make it, sort of a 4200+ ???)

1GB (2x512) generic PC3200 value sticks that handle the overclock decently.

Radeon X800 Pro with a nice 150Mhz overclock on core and gddr.

A nice (imo) 19" 5ms Gigabyte LCD panel with a native res of 1280x1024.

A 500W PSU (no idea what brand it is, I suspect it's some generic taiwanese job)

A variety of frankendrives plugged in any which way for storage.

The usual DVD writer and other odd gubbins.

Well now when I was knee-high to a leper, this was a nice system (I used to be an early adopter). It's still a nice system and is probably better at gaming than most mid-range OEM jobs you can buy these days. But me olde bones are a-itchin' for some more whack.

Here's what I have decided. My budget isn't unlimited, as I'd still like to get value for money. The days of blasting my pension fund on the latest and greatest isn't of concern to me any more. Besides, there's a H.D. VRSC Night Rod standing on the shop floor down the road that I've got my eye on!

1. The PSU should be the limiting factor in terms of stuff I buy. I'd like to limit the amount of juice that I have to feed the PC, so ideally, the 500 Watter remains