Mets
  •  Mets
  • 50.25% (Neutral)
  • Member Topic Starter
2005-08-09T22:16:06Z
Well, like usual, I'm down to the wire in deciding about my laptop for college. My problem is, I have a fairly new laptop (1 year and a few months) that I'm not really sure if I should bring away with me, or if I should buy a new model. It's a Dell Inspiron 5100 with the following specs:

Intel Pentium 4 Processor at 2.4Ghz, 533 MHz front side bus
256MB Ram at 266MHz
ATI Mobility Raedeon 7500 video card with 32mb of memory
XGA Display (15 in., seems kinda dim compared to my LCD on the desktop)
8x DVD (no burner)
30 Gigs HD (about 22 free)
Sigma-Tel Audio
12-cell battery
1 PCI card (filled with 54g wireless)
Firewire, two USB 2.0 ports, video port, etc.

I'd be interested in hearing what everybody thinks. I'm an engineering student, and I use my computer a lot. My only hesitation is that with a new version of Windows coming out next year, and Intel getting involved in 64-bit processing, I feel like I should just wait, if not a year than maybe until Christmas. If I did get a new one, I'd be looking at something that's going to last at least two years and make it through Microsoft/Intels new upgrades, so any recommendations as to a nice performing laptop under $1500 would be appreciated. Since I have a really nice desktop at home, I barely used this thing (feel a little guilty). That being said, given that it's going to be my only computer next year, I'm not sure if I should get a new one or stick with it.

Some upgrades I'll be making if I keep this computer include more ram ($70 at crucial.com for a 512mb dimm), Win XP Pro ($15 through school), and maybe a few others, like a better optical drive.

Technology can change too quickly sometimes
Bothware
2005-08-09T23:27:35Z
That sounds like its a desktop CPU rather than a mobile one - right?