ManicKenny
2005-01-14T12:11:35Z
I've never built a computer, but have been taking em apart and upgrading parts for years so I am a pseudo newbie!!

My last three computers have been Gateways and their quality has diminished over the years dramatically and now that I research motherboards and chipsets and X it is more apparent it would be better to build a computer then buy a package deal. I am a cheap SOB so I want the performance but don't want to pay for it so I want to build a system that I could keep for 3+ years and make only minor modifications w/o replacing the whole motherboard and all associated hardware.

My thought is to go with the 64 bit processor but get a motherboard that I can upgrade the processor in later. (BTW I use my computer for gaming, financial models and will be getting my Masters in CS soon so will be doing some development too. )

It seams that there isn't much difference between the major motherboard manufacturers but seems best to stick to ASUS, Gigabyte or Abit. Is that correct??

Want AMD because when it comes down to it I can handle problems with statistical programs, but I hate it when a game doesn't perform adequately (especially when playing online and getting thwaked cause my computer sucks).

My proposed system:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (939 socket) (no idea what the hell 939 socket means any quick gouge would be nice)
With either a ASUS A8V-E Deluxe board with VIA K8T890 or perhaps a Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI or GA-K8NXP-9 (still trying to figure out what SLI is)

Getting the motherboards from (http://www2.amd.com/us-en/recmobo/ResultsHandler/1,,30_182_869_9460^9461~73649,00.html) which I figure is a good list to work off of. When compare it with the 64 FX 55 list there are a few matches and these are the ones I pulled.

Any advise would be appreciated...Even if it is "hey looks good, happy gaming!!"
Sponsor
Jordan
  •  Jordan
  • 50.6% (Neutral)
  • Advanced Member
2005-01-14T12:17:45Z