Egaladeist
2004-11-21T11:21:39Z
I am in the process of designing a web page...using Frontpage...I'm new at this and new with comps too...so I'll probably ask alot of stupid questions...like...how can I take something I animated with GIF ( a banner sized picture )and place it at the top of my web above the banner created by Frontpage?
Jordan
  •  Jordan
  • 50.75% (Neutral)
  • Advanced Member
2004-11-21T12:34:58Z
FrontPage is a horrible tool. I study web design and I use Dreamweaver or just code in HTML. If it's all you have available and you can't be bothered to learn HTML then it will do I suppose. The only problem is you might have to find a server that has FrontPage extensions when you want to upload it which may be difficult and/or cost extra.

Like I said I never use FrontPage but I'll fire it up now and have a look. If you get the chance to use Dreamweaver I suggest you do and if you're looking for a cheap, great and easy to use package then I recommend NetObjects Fusion 7/MX. I got it free with a mag once, you might be able to get a free version.
Egaladeist
2004-11-21T15:18:52Z
Thanks Jordan! Couldn't find the Thumbs-up smilley.
Jordan
  •  Jordan
  • 50.75% (Neutral)
  • Advanced Member
2004-11-21T15:29:12Z
Good job you replied, I knida forgot about it

OK just fired up FP 200. I havn't seen this in years. Flicking through the menus I remeber why! I hate that there's no arrow cursor to select objects, it sets everything out like a word doc!

Switching from the normal tab to the HTML tab makes me feel more at home now. If you want to get FrontPage to do the stuff you want then you'll probabaly be in the HTML quite often! If you plan on making more than one site or if you want to make quite a sophisticated site then I can recommend a couple of great books to get you on your way that teach you about HTML and web design in general. Web Design in a Nutshel is my all time fave basic Web Design book.