PumpkinMan
2003-12-01T22:43:56Z
Ok, In see alot of post where one guy gets like really low temps ( fake or otherwise) and then somebody gets really high temps... it's always blamed on the HSF... but often they are using the same exact one. what gives... besides having crap ventilation what would cause this?...
I think it might be the improper use of thermal paste.
I'm pretty new at this so I'm not claiming anything but from what I have seen/experienced in the last 2 days.

too much paste... poor heat transfer, high temps.

not enough paste... poor heat transfer, high temps.

Sticky pads.. kinda in the middle not as good as the paste done properly better than if done incorectly.

Problem is the thermal compounds give little or no directions or indications how much to use. Both brands I have don't say one word about what you even do with it let alone how to use it.

Can one of you more experienced guys write a little sticky on this aspect as it has a great effect on how well our HSF work and what pros and cons there are to conductive and non-conductive paste... cermaics..ETC

Thanks,

Mark
Telexen
2003-12-01T22:54:50Z
It's quite simple...all you need is a thin layer, though it does need to cover the entire core surface; otherwise it does no good. Many people will apply it and use a credit card to spread it properly - I don't see a need to. I apply a small amount in the center and use the end of the tube to spread it evenly over the core, so it's covered (not very lightly, but not heavily) and count on the heatsink to thin the layer of the compound when it's attached...I've always maintained low temperatures with Athlons and AthlonXPs...even with stock HSFs and poor case air circulation
boa
  •  boa
  • 50.2% (Neutral)
2003-12-01T23:11:36Z