pooped out and will not power on. Tried many trial and errors. Still no

avail and Ultimately, I ended up disassembling the External Unit, which

consisted of two SATA 2TB HD's.

When i first bought the external HD, I formatted it as NTFS. Now when i

insert 1 of the 2 hard drives, windows says it is a RAW and must be

formatted in order to use. The 2nd HD has the same story. I dont get it

and i am completely lost. I have lots of work that is really important

and need them recovered.

Is it possible to take the two HDD's and insert them into a new external enclosure? I have never done anything like this before and need Data storgae Expert help!

Thank you!

Sponsor
LBowen
2011-05-12T01:51:53Z

Hello noobcannon and welcome to HotHardware :)  I might not be the best to help but I will try.  Do you happen to know if the disks were set up in a mirror raid since I didn't see you mention that?

noobcannon
2011-05-12T14:25:45Z

Well to be honest, im not sure. I know in the back of the hard drive, the only settings were Raid 0 and Raid 1. I never bothered to educate myself when it came to Raid's. But i think the default setting is Raid 0 (theres a switch in the back that you can lift up or down).

I honestly don't know if they were set up as mirror raid. All I know is that i checked one HDD in my desktop then swapped out the 2nd one. And I realized that both hard drives need to be set up as a dynamic hard drive in order to work properly. So i took out cables from my CD ROM drive and added both at the same time into the desktop. Set them up as a dynamic disk in management. and still doesn't work.

I've read people saying simply insert the external HDD into your desktop and should work. But I'm thinking i am not properly setting up the dynamic disks correctly?

Thanks for your time LBowen. Really appreciate it. :)

noobcannon
2011-05-12T21:29:00Z

Ok when the External Hard Drive was functioning, it was recognized as a single unit, meaning it was Raid-0.

Der Meister